Human Centered Transportation Systems

TC Leadership

Koji Murai

TC Co-Chair

Koji Murai Kobe University, Japan

Takashi Imamura

TC Co-Chair

Takashi Imamura (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)
Niigata University, Japan

Shubhangi Giripunje

TC Co-Chair

Shubhangi Giripunje
G. H. Raisoni College of Engineering, India


Our Goal

The primary objective of the Human Centered Transportation Systems (HCTS) technical committee is to bring together specialists from the all areas of "Human-Transportation systems", including ships, airplanes, trains and cars and to promote interdisciplinary study on the human factor in the transportation system. The goal of the TC is to improve compatibility in Human and User Interface (UI) of navigation system for ship, airplane, train and car and to provide an effective educational training system for their operators.

Recent Activities

  • Organized special sessions at Annual Conf., SMC 2006-2016
  • Organized special sessions at WAC/IFMIP 2010, '12, '14, '16
  • Organized ICETET 2008-2015
  • Articles on professional activities of our members for submission to the SMC eNewsletter, 2010

Join Us

The Human Centered Transportation Systems Technical Committee (TC on HCTS) provides opportunities to continue professional and personal development such as:

  • Interacting with specialists in human centered transportation systems; ships, airplanes, trains, and cars.
  • Meeting colleagues in different areas within transportation systems and its training systems.
  • Exchanging research ideas on Human and Transportation systems.


  • Mohammad Alfraheed, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Masakazu Arima, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
  • Ashir Ahmed, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Preeti Bajaj, G.H.Raisoni College of Engineering, India
  • Alessandro Beghi, University of Padova, Italy
  • Yao-Tian Fan, Wuhan University of Technology, China
  • Takayuki Fujita, University of Hyogo, Japan
  • Shubhangi Giripunje, G.H.Raisoni College of Engineering, India
  • Tomohiro Hase, Ryukoku University, Japan
  • Cheng-Ming Huang, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
  • Takashi Imamura, Niigata University, Japan
  • Gunnar Johannsen, University of Kassel, Germany
  • David B. Kaber, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Jun Kayano, Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Japan
  • Yuichiro Kinoshita, University of Yamanashi, Japan
  • Ioannis Kordonis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
  • Florian Laquai, Technische Universität München, Germany
  • John D. Lee, The University of Iowa, USA
  • Wenfeng Li, Wuhan University of Technology, China
  • Michael Ekow Manuel, World Maritime University, Sweden
  • Fabio Maran, University of Padova, Italy
  • Nobuo Mitomo, Nihon University, Japan
  • Masakazu Morimoto, University of Hyogo, Japan
  • Koji Murai, Kobe University, Japan
  • Noriko Nagata, Kwansei Gakuin University, Japan
  • Kimihiko Nakano, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Yoshiyuki Noda, University of Yamanashi, Japan
  • Shusaku Nomura, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan
  • Takako Nonaka, Shonan Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Andreas Nurnberger, Otto-Von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany
  • Tadatsugi Okazaki, Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Japan
  • Rizal Othman, University Malaysia Pahang, Malaysia
  • Farid Oubbati, University of Bochum, Germany
  • Philippe Palanque, Institut de Recherche en Infomatique de Toulouse, France
  • Egil Pedersen, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Zhu Qinghua, Guangdong University of Technology, China
  • Lili Rong, Dalian University of Technology, China
  • Ryo Saegusa, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan
  • Maiko Sakamoto, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Kazimierz A. Salewicz, Systems Analyst, Austria
  • John A. Selter, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Kazunori Shidoji, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Etsuro Shimizu, Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Japan
  • Chi-Sheng Shih, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Hideyuki Takagi, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Ronald W. Tarr, University of Central Florida, USA
  • S.B.J. Van Dam, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Jie Wang, Zhejiang International Maritime College, China
  • Rencheng Zheng, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Ronggang Zhou, Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China


Back to top