eNewsletter

2018 Awards of the SMC Society

Congratulations to the 2018 SMC Society award winners.

Franklin V. Taylor Memorial Award: Finalists

  • S-BP: 12479 “Evaluation of the Path Tracking Performance of Autonomous Vehicles Using the Universal Motion Simulator,” Navid Mohajer, Houshyar Asadi, Saeid Nahavandi, Chee Peng Lim (Deakin University, Australia)
  • H-BP: 12526 “Estimation of Nonlinear Contributions in Human Controller Frequency Response Functions,” Daan Pool, Saskia Wagenaar, Herman Damveld, Marinus van Paassen, Max Mulder (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
  • H-BP: 13041 “A Dictionary Driven Mental Typewriter Based on Code-Modulated Visual Evoked Potentials (cVEP),” Felix Gembler, Piotr Stawicki, Abdul Saboor, Mihaly Benda, Roland Grichnik, Aya Rezeika, Ivan Volosyak (Rhine-Waal University of Applied Sciences, Germany)
  • H-BP: 13422 “Local White Matter Architecture Defines Functional Brain Dynamics,” Yo Joong Choe (Kakao, South Korea) Sivaraman Balakrishnan, Aarti Singh (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) Jean Vettel (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA) Timothy Verstynen (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • C-BP: 13062 “Relative Aesthetic Quality Ranking,” Xinmei Tian, Yujiao Long, Hao Lv (University of Science and Technology of China, China)

Outstanding SMC Student Branch Chapter Award

  • Veracruz University – Universidad Veracruzana (Mexico) for outstanding efforts and initiative in promoting student activities. Mónica Loeza Bustamante Email: ieeeitvsb@gmail.com, rportillo@uv.mx

Outstanding SMC Chapter Award

  • London Chapter (Regions 1-7) for outstanding leadership and service to its members. Chair: Abdallah Shami Email: ashami2@uwo.ca
  • Hungary Chapter (Region 8) for outstanding regional leadership and organization of international events of the highest quality. Chair: Levente Kovács Email: kovacs.levente@nik.uni-obuda.hu
  • Victorian Chapter Australia (Region 10) for outstanding leadership and service to its members. Chair: Saeid Nahavandi Email: saeid.nahavandi@deakin.edu.au

Most Active SMC Technical Committee Award

  • TC on Soft Computing
    TC Chairs: Ajith Abraham: ajith.abraham@ieee.org; Mario Koppen: mkoeppen@ieee.org; Hideyuki Takagi: takagi@design.kyushu-u.ac.jp
  • TC on Brain-Machine Interface Systems
    TC Chair: Michael H. Smith: m.h.smith@ieee.org
    TC Co-Chairs: Vinod Achutavarrier Prasad: ASVinod@ntu.edu.sg; Chavarriaga Lozano Ricardo: ricardo.chavarriaga@epfl.ch; Tiago Falk: falk@emt.inrs.ca; Christoph Guger: guger@gtec.at
  • TC on Medical Mechatronics
    TC Co-Chairs: Ming-Yih Lee: leemiy@mail.cgu.edu.tw; Yi-Hung Liu: yhliu@mail.ntut.edu.tw; Chung-Hsien Kuo: chkuo@mail.ntust.edu.tw

Best Associate Editor Award

  • IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics
    Jie Chen, Tongji University: chenjie@bit.edu.cn
  • IEEE Transactions on Human-Machine Systems
    Dongrui Wu, DataNova: drwu09@gmail.com
  • IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics: Systems
    Yan-Jun Liu, Liaoning University of Technology: liuyanjun@live.com

Andrew P. Sage Best Transactions Paper Award

  • Qinglai Wei, Derong Liu, and Hanquan Lin, "Value Iteration Adaptive Dynamic Programming for Optimal Control of Discrete-Time Nonlinear Systems,” IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics, Volume 46, No. 3, pp. 840- 853, March 2016. The State Key Laboratory of Management and Control for Complex Systems, Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China: derongliu@foxmail.com
  • Scott Schnelle, Junmin Wang, Hai-Jun Su, and Richard Jagacinski, “A Personalizable Driver Steering Model Capable of Predicting Driver Behaviors in Vehicle Collision Avoidance Maneuvers,” IEEE Transactions on Human-Machine Systems, Volume 47, No. 5, pp. 625-635, October 2017. Ohio State University, schnelle.16@buckeyemail.osu.edu
  • Shaocheng Tong, Lili Zhang, and Yongming Li “Observed-Based Adaptive Fuzzy Decentralized Tracking Control for Switched Uncertain Nonlinear Large-Scale Systems With Dead Zones,” IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics: Systems, Volume 46, No. 1, pp. 37-47, January 2016. Liaoning University of Technology, jztongsc@163.com, lilizhang2012@163.com, l_y_m_2004@163.com

Meritorious Service Award

  • Haibin Zhu for sustained outstanding services to SMC Society conferences, technical activities, and publications., Nipissing University, haibinz@nipissingu.ca

 Outstanding Contribution Award

  • Rodney Roberts for outstanding service to the IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society. Florida State University, rroberts@fsu.edu
  • Christoph Guger for significant contributions and outstanding service to the IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society. g.tec: guger@g.tec.at

Norbert Wiener Outstanding Research Award

  • C. L. Philip Chen for outstanding contributions in the areas of machine learning, pattern understanding, and image classification. Faculty of Science and Technology, The University of Macau, Macau SAR, China, philip.chen@ieee.org

Lotfi A. Zadeh Pioneer Award

  • Ronald Yager, Iona College, yager@panic.com